Under Investigation: The inside story of the Florida Attorney General’s investigation of Wilhelmina Scouting Network, the largest model and talent scam in America.

ISBN-0968713335 Paperback 512 pages $29.95

Under Investigation by Les Henderson
 
Google
 
 
   

 

Modeling Scams


John Casablancas Modeling School


To Whom It May Concern:

I am 19 years old and I have been interested in modeling for quite some time. I did a Vera Wang trunk show a while back and really had a good time.

I really think I have what it takes to be a model, but I don't know where I should go to get jobs.

I have thought about sending in pictures for model searches such as Elite and Ford, but I thought I would try going locally to a John Casablancas.

I went to a John Casablancas open call the other night, and they gave me a call back. I am supposed to go see them again.

I really don't need a lot of classes and I won't put up with any of their b*** s***.

I did not know if you could recommend some place for me to go, or possibly what I should do. I don't want to sign a contract that would exclude me from other modeling opportunites.

Please help me.

Thank you,

S.B.

P.S. I am located in North Florida.


S.,

At 19 it may too late to start thinking about Ford or Elite, since they seem to be most interested in new female models from ages 14-19, but you could still work locally, and, if you find local success, look at other options.

What you could do is decide what type of modeling you want to do, then find an agency which specializes is that type of modeling, or which gets its models the type of modeling jobs you want.

You can ask them how many models they represent, how many of them get work, and how much they earn, and which ones worked recently.

Then you can ask to see their work if it's in print (tear sheets), or ask to speak with them or their client references.

The basic rule of thumb is to check out all agencies within driving distance. You said you are in North Florida.

There is a website specifically for models in Florida which you could visit to find the names of modeling agencies in your region, and possibly ask for recommendations for the type of work you want to do.

The website's name is Florida Models; the website address is: www.florida-models.com. They also have a section on Modeling Scams in Florida.

Good luck!

Redacted Info


To Whom It May Concern:

I was called by John Casablancas/Supermodel.com, and asked if I was interested in auditioning for Supermodel.com's National Photo Tour.

I went to John Casablanca's and met with the Director, Deborah Knisley, in Atlanta, GA. The cost of the photo shoot is $595 and I received a $100-off coupon. 

The information I received told me that the photo session includes the following:

  • (3) Wardrobe Changes with (3) looks
  • Professional Hair & make up
  • Indoor and Outdoor Shooting
  • Leatherette Model Portfolio Book
  • (3) 8" * 12" Archival Portfolio Prints (one of each look)
  • (2) Slide Sheets
  • Professional Stylists Consultation and support
  • Professional online modeling portfolio on supermodel.com for one year with 6 digital scans uploaded to your personal supermodel.com photo gallery
  • All shipping and Handling

I have several questions, number one being is this a scam? 

I called Ms. Knisley back today and was told I was selected to go and that I was also going to be signed for one year with Model and Talent Management on a non-exclusive contract.

Which brings me to my second question:  If John Casablancas was truly interested in signing me with their agency and thought I would bring in money and get jobs, would they be asking me to front this money and go to this photo shoot?

I always thought that a modeling agency would pay for the portfolio or take it out of your paycheck from a job.

It also seemed they were a little too eager to get their money, and Ms. Knisley told me that I have one day to decide and pay if I want to do this, as the photo tour is this weekend.

I also asked if they guarantee me a certain amount of auditions during this one year contract, and was told I couldn't be guaranteed anything, as they don't know what I will do, that there are always plenty of jobs for me to go to, but it depends on my flexibility.

I spoke with a friend who also happens to be a former scout for Eileen Ford. He is sketchy also.

What should I do?

Sincerely,

A.F.

P.S.  I went to the BBB site and Supermodel.com was not found. According to Ms. Knisley, this site is the future of modeling, and has access and a relationship with over 700 agencies all over the world. Is Supermodel.com a substantial site, and do major agencies go on to find girls?


A.,

The home page of supermodel.com featured an advertisement for a "National Photo Tour." The large graphic said: "Join Our National Photo Tour Now!" It included dates for two cities: Atlanta, GA, Nov. 8, 9, 10, 11; and Dallas, TX, Nov. 9, 10.

The "National Photo Tour" is simply a model search and photo shoot, all rolled into one. Professional photographers tour these cities and all they are doing is recruiting people to be "models" for their online comp card service.

Supermodel.com has the same service, purpose, and price as Trans Continental Talent (tctalent.com). They recruit people to pay upfront fees ($595) to be on their website for the purpose of getting modeling jobs.

The only basic differences are professional photography is included in the Supermodel.com package, and there is "representation" by a real-world modeling agency (MTM) packaged into the "deal."

Comp card websites are irrelevant. You don't need them and neither do agencies. The sales pitch of being discovered by any agency in the world is irrelevant. Agencies work with local talent.

Of the "700 agencies all over the world" you mentioned, probably 99.9% are irrelevant. Maybe more. The only ones which are relevant are the ones in your city and area which you could visit. So why don't you visit them?

Why would anyone want to put their picture on a website if they could visit the agency? This is very basic but somehow the idea is lost in the hype of marketing that speculates internet comp cards are "the future of modeling," or one particular website is "the future of modeling."

The same broken record has been played since about 1995. One company which made the same way-of-the-future claim and spent millions of dollars trying to prove it is a thing of the past: it quickly went bankrupt.

The fact of the matter is top agencies do not have time for websites. They receive so many and more than enough visitors to their agency and pictures by mail, they find lots of models, and they have neither the need nor the time to download and search for more models.

If any agencies do use the internet to find models, it is the insignificant ones, which are unsuccessful, new, or can only get models minimal low-wage work, if anything. Are these really the kind you want to find you online?

One common-sense approach to getting started in modeling is to find the agencies with the lowest prices and the fewest complaints. John Casablancas has a high number of complaints and it does not have the lowest prices.

What is ridiculous in the case of the supermodel.com sales pitch is professional photography after the work of professional makeup artists. Have you seen the image quality of photos on the supermodel.com website? They don't have the digital imaging skills to match the offline professional photos with online professional photos, so the makeup artist is virtually irrelevant.

Interesting how the MTM director tried to shirk responsibility saying they could not guarantee you anything and she turned the whole thing into your responsibility. You are the one who has to be flexible.

You said she claimed there would "always plenty of jobs" for you to go to. Really? Talk is cheap. Have you asked her what models they represent got jobs recently? How many jobs? How many did they try out for? How much were they paid? Have you spoken to their models? Have her claims been checked and verified?

Finally, to answer your question, "What should I do?" you should find a local agency which has found many of its models work recently of the amount, kind, and frequency that you want. Shop around.

Redacted Info


 

John Casablancas Modeling School Letters Index


Modeling Schools


Letters | Privacy | Home | Disclaimer | Email

 

Order a bookUnder Investigation by Les Henderson 0968713335
Model Scams Book
Google
 
Net Detective
Under Investigation by Les Henderson 0968713335Order a book
Don't be a victim!